CONSENT AGENDA

TOWNSHIP HIGH SCHOOL DISTRICT 211 Palatine, Illinois

BOARD OF EDUCATION SPECIAL MEETING October 26, 2020 6:30 p.m. Official

A special meeting of the Board of Education, Township High School District 211, Cook County, Illinois was held on October 26, 2020 at 6:30 p.m. in the auditorium at Hoffman Estates High School at 1100 W. Higgins Road, Hoffman Estates, Illinois. Access for the public to view the Board of Education meeting live on the Zoom application was available on the District's website at: <u>www.d211.org</u>.

ROLL CALL

Present:	Kimberly Cavill, Member Anna Klimkowicz, Vice President and Member Steven Rosenblum, Member Edward Yung, Secretary and Member Robert J. LeFevre, Jr., President and Member
Absent:	Mark Cramer, Member Peter Dombrowski, Member

Also present were: Lisa Small, Superintendent; members of the District administrative staff and interested citizens.

Pledge of Allegiance

President LeFevre led the Board of Education and the audience in the Pledge of Allegiance.

Public Comments

President LeFevre made the following remarks:

"According to Phase 4 guidelines issued by the State of Illinois, no more than 50 individuals may be gathered together in a specific location at one time. The Board of Education meeting is being held this evening in the auditorium at Hoffman Estates High School with a maximum of 50 individuals. The Board of Education meeting also will be simulcast in classrooms near the auditorium to accommodate any additional guests beyond the auditorium capacity. The Board of Education meeting is also being conducted via an electronic video-conferencing application known as Zoom.

Tonight, public comments will be in-person and via Zoom. Individuals who wanted to address the Board of Education via in-person or Zoom were asked to sign up today between the hours of 4:00 p.m. and 6:00 p.m. Individuals were asked to indicate if they wanted to address the Board of Education in– person or via Zoom.

No one has signed up via Zoom or by any other means to address the Board of Education. Is there anybody here in the auditorium who did not get a chance to sign up who would like to address the Board of Education? If so, you can raise your hand."

No one raised their hand to indicate they wished to address the Board of Education.

Closed Session

Mrs. Klimkowicz made a motion, seconded by Mr. Rosenblum, that the Board of Education enter closed session to discuss appointment, employment, compensation, discipline, performance, or dismissal of specific employees [5 ILCS 120/2 (c) (1)].

On which motion a roll call vote was held with the following results:

Aye:	Kimberly Cavill
	Anna Klimkowicz
	Steven Rosenblum
	Edward Yung
	Robert J. LeFevre, Jr.

Nay:

None

The motion carried unanimously.

The Board of Education entered executive session at 6:31 p.m. and resumed its meeting at 7:00 p.m.

Arrival of Mr. Dombrowski

Mr. Dombrowski arrived to the meeting at 7:00 p.m.

Workshop with Illinois Association of School Boards Representatives

Superintendent Small introduced Illinois Association of School Boards (IASB) Field Services Directors Sandra Kwasa and Dee Molinare. Ms. Kwasa and Dr. Molinare presented and served as facilitators for the Board of Education and the Superintendent for the interactive workshop entitled *Equity: An Educational Imperative*.

Break

The Board of Education took a break from 8:40 p.m. to 8:50 p.m.

Resumption of Workshop with IASB Representatives

The Board of Education and Superintendent Small continued with the workshop with the IASB representatives.

After the conclusion of the workshop, the Board of Education thanked Ms. Kwasa and Dr. Molinare for the presentation.

Acceptance of Resignation

Mrs. Klimkowicz made a motion, seconded by Mr. Yung, that the Board of Education approve the notice of resignation of David O'Connor.

On which motion a roll call vote was held with the following results:

Aye:	Steven Rosenblum Edward Yung Anna Klimkowicz Kimberly Cavill Robert LeFevre
Nay:	None
Abstain:	Peter Dombrowski

The motion carried.

Notice to Remedy and Suspension for Michael Murphy

Mrs. Klimkowicz made a motion, seconded by Mr. Yung, that the Board of Education adopt a Resolution authorizing notice to remedy and five-day suspension without pay for Michael Murphy, and that such Notice be provided to the employee by the Secretary of the Board of Education (attached to official minutes).

On which motion a roll call vote was held with the following results:

Aye:	Steven Rosenblum Kimberly Cavill Anna Klimkowicz Edward Yung Robert LeFevre
Nay:	None
Abstain:	Peter Dombrowski

The motion carried.

Adjournment

There being no further business to come before the Board of Education, President LeFevre thereupon declared the meeting adjourned at 10:11 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Secretary, District 211